Speedzilla Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
That smiley is cool for the topic icon.. anyways on the subject i wanna talk about.. seems alot of u guys are all about the sports bikes and not cruisers..i like how the sports bikes look no doubt.. but i love the sound of cruiser.. that rumblin sound.. haha anyways.... give me some input on some cruiser that would be good for me.. if u didnt read my other post.. im new to motorcycles.. lookin for a nice bike.. not a new one.. a few years old or so.. 5k to spend.. and im 6'2 230.. someone said that they were 6'5 240 so.. im guessing the more stocky i shall say bog down the engine.. i guess thats common sense heh.. but.. anyways. tell me what u think thats good.. somethin that u guys have once ridden or heard of that was good for a beg. bike.. thanks

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Re: Thanks for ur input now.. i want ur thoughts on cruisers (Polk)

in my 10 or so years of wrenching on bikes, this is how the cruisers stack up in my opinion:

Honda: by far the best made, easiest to maintain, and best fit and finish.

Kawasaki: still good bikes, but not quite up there with the hondas, avoid the vulcan 750

Suzuki: dont get me started, suzuki's cruiser design staff is on crack or something...the bikes are overcomplicated and not too fun to wrench on (especially avoid the 800cc models)

Yamaha: in contrast to suzuki's cruiser dept, yamaha's retired in 1985 I think, they just have some stylists hang new bodywork on the bikes and new covers on the motor, they are all the same crappy viragos underneath all that chromed plastic. You want to avoid the 1100cc models with a vengance, as they require removal of the entire exhaust system just to change the oil filter

Harley: if you want a tractor, buy a john deere

Victory: havent messed with these much, they seem to be ok bikes now that they got their initial teething issues out of the way

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·