Speedzilla Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My morning paper carried an article about a 19 year old killed when he crashed his brothers Suzuki into the side of a building, head on in a parking lot. He was unlicensed and not wearing a helmet. So my whats my point?
My point is that the death of loved one is a terrible price to pay when trying to teach someone to ride. The MSF Rider course is a great way to shrink the learning curve and for a few hundred bucks imparts a tremendous amount of information as it gets you started. I am not saying take the course and you won't crash, but there is much info provided that genrally may not even be a consideration to the self taught. There are probably a zillion guys out there who are self taught, and I'm not aiming this at them, but for my money the MSF course is the way to go. Anyone I have talked to who has taken the course never once said, "Boy did that suck, I didn't learn a thing".
I'm a funeral director and often have the unfortunate duty of burying young men who die from similar circumstances. Sorry if this offends anyone, not my intent, but I had to say it.
Fran

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Re: Some thoughts for what they are worth. (sb748)

wow, that is terrible
My brother and I are self taught, though I wish we'd have been able to get into a class (probably the reason half these people are self taught- the only available classes are a year ahead, I've even tried to go back and take one but no dice) And, of course we both dropped our bikes numerous times doing maneuvers, and he even crashed. Nothing major, but damn, it's still dangerous on an EX500. We did get our licenses before street riding though. Scary stuff and I hope it makes new riders think twice about just hitting the streets.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Re: Some thoughts for what they are worth. (Monster Man)