Speedzilla Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Perhaps my input is entirely appropriate, as I am new to the RC51 community, but not new to bikes -- therefore I have not experienced the years' worth of issues that have come up with Mark Schoeller. On the other hand, a business can improve, and perhaps it is the most recent events that are the most relevant. My story, is that I bought an RC51 in Nov of last year -- an SP1. It had the usual dings and dents, and a crappy looking stock exhaust. I then spent the winter sprucing it up, including buying a Jardine 2-1 -- mainly due to the weight savings, as well as the decent price. The sound was OK, and once properly jetted, I enjoyed riding it immensely. The look of the can was not in my taste, as it was too thin and too long. So I set about finding a replacement. I pm'ed MRGN and asked for the following -- a 400 mm dual exit CF can, designed to work with the Jardine 2-1. After a bit of a delay, this is what came in the mail:

The can was the dimensions and size I wanted, including 2 hooks in what appeared to be the right spot for the jardine springs.

I first slipped on the collar to mate the jarding collector into the can:

This fit snugly.

I then slid on the exhaust can itself. A bit of slop, but not extreme. I used some red exhaust sealant prior to putting it on for the last time.

URL=http://img257.imageshack.us/i/blackwidow2.jpg/]
[/url]

I then set about mounting the strap. It was the right shape, but with the rubber protector, a tad small. I was worried that tightening it down could damage the can. I rooted around my spares and found a suitable spacer.

This still holds the can securely, but not too tight.

Overall, I am very happy with the looks, and the sound (I fired it up prior to reinstalling it with the sealant). Not too loud, and markedly different than the single outlet can. I really like it.