Speedzilla Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the process of installing Fiamm Road Blaster disc horns and have a question. The stock horn is a little tooter that probably draws about 3 or 4 amps max. The Highway Blasters are about 8 to 10 amps max for the pair. I'm using a separate horn relay fed with dedicated power leads directly from the battery. I'll need to trip that relay with the horn button. Now for the question:

Is there any reason not to just use the existing horn leads (from the existing horn relay) to trip the new horn relay? It's really easy to do it that way. Would there be any penalty to pay for having a relay trip a relay? Has anyone done it this way?

Thanks.


Modified by DanST4 at 4:21 PM 3/24/2005
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
You can go right to the auto parts store and get a regular horn for like $5 or $6. Hooks up to existing leads. Louder and not the beep beep as a stock bike horn.
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Re: Louder horns (DanST4)

On a 916 the horn button switches the horn directly, there's no relay. Double check that you actually have a relay.

I installed Fiamm Highway Blasters by hooking-up the horn leads directly to a relay. Wired in parallel, they draw about 10 amps total so use a 15 amp relay (Radio Shack No. 275-218C)

Make sure you run separate ground wires from each horn back to the battery (too much load for a local frame ground.) Use an inline 15 amp fuse for the circuit.
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Re: Louder horns (Shazaam!)

Well there's a surprise... no horn relay on an ST4, I just checked the wiring diagram. Thanks for that tidbit! I bought a horn relay kit from this guy http://www.easternbeaver.com/H....html and it has separate ground wires to each horn. A little pricey but seems well done.

So with no stock horn relay there's nothing to do but use the horn button to trip the new horn relay. Simple.

Thanks Shazaam.





Modified by DanST4 at 4:34 PM 3/24/2005
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Re: Louder horns (DanST4)

[UPDATE] These horns are simply not loud enough for my needs. They're mounted correctly. Adequate flex. Wired straight from the battery.

I'd suggest you consider buying the Fiamm Freeway Blasters or Highway Blasters or even the Air Horns. These little disc horns are better than the one stock Ducati tooter, but they're not big car horns or truck horns.

I might be mistaken for a Fiat now instead of a moped. Better, but no cigar.

Next step: I'll probably get the Highway Blasters.


BEFORE:



AFTER:






Modified by DanST4 at 12:16 PM 3/26/2005
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Re: Louder horns (DanST4)

Hey Dan,

Post a pic for us when you are all done. We want to hear them.



Seriously though, let us know how they sound.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top