Speedzilla Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys, I can barely contain myself... I had so much fun on Sunday at the I-70 Speedway that I have to let other racers know about it.

The race promoters for the July 24 round of the US Central Supermoto Championship at I-70 Raceway in Odessa MO asked chriscap to help them plan a race course at their facility this weekend. Chriscap invited Nick Novice and I to go along... with our bikes. So we loaded up early in the morning on Sunday, and drove out to the raceway.

Before getting there, our biggest concern was dirt: Usually at any course we go to, they have an asphalt racing surface, and the "dirt section" is a blank canvas. Not so at I-70! They have two (!) dirt sections that are both wicked, hilarious fun. The first one is a purpose-built mini motocross track. Whe we laid it out for supermoto, it had three easy doubles (I could clear them, and I'm a total dirt novice), a step-up/step-down table top with kicker jump, and a long whoop section of at least ten bumps. Somewhere in there is one fast flat turn, and three good sharp bermed turns. All three of us ran over the motocross track over and over with our slicks on, having a great time, even on an ungroomed track. It will be awesome on race day.

The second dirt section is actually a big, banked oval for racing go karts. The banking is a giant, six foot berm all the way around the oval. Chriscap laid out the track so we were running up the berm at 40 mph, jumping into the oval, running around about 240 degrees of it to the left, and then jumping back out of it. The dirt track within the oval is very wide, and it should be a great place for dirt trackers to pass. This too was laugh-out-loud fun.