Speedzilla Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Of course I have the Ducati head nut tool, but I have a customer in Austrailia who needs one. The Ducati one is way to expensive, so I am wondering what some of you have used/rigged up to torque the heads on a Desmoquatro? I would like to get this guy a less expensive alternative .....

thanks

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Re: Head Nut Tool (section8superbike)

i have seen one somewhere which is wood with two screws through it to mimic the ducati tool, will search around for a photo of it. might even be in the haynes manual?

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

its amazing how i take photos for a living but cant seem to ever post them correctly on speedzilla!
jason, i have some jpgs for you on how to make the tool? i will email you.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

I know that this isn't for the 4 valve Desmoquatro, but maybe someone else can be helped by this. I created this tool to use on the head nuts on the 2 valve 944 engine.

I just got the correct wrench, and brazed a socket into the claw end.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Re: Head Nut Tool (BlackHawk)

Snap-On!!! tool#frdhm15 torque adapter. I just got two at $26. each.Were on back order though for about 3 months

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Re: Head Nut Tool (georgeb)

George,

You stole my idea ...

I've grabbed two 15mm ring/open-end spanners, weld the open-ends overlapping, heat bend the ring ends towards each other, until they're square & parrallel, then weld a 17mm socket, drive up, onto one outside end, grind to suit ... voala ...

I think I remember the ofset being about 160mm to get round a 4V head

I'll chuck a picture up when i take one ...

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Re: Head Nut Tool (georgeb)

well cool georgeb...you musta been born in New Zealand

...ouwh wait, there is no No 8 wire or block of wood ..wrong tool

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #11