Speedzilla Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
921 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am starting this thread to get the opinion of countless people on this forum who have been exposed to different forms of motorcycle racing/riding.

I have been riding since 1993, but only about 10% of my riding experience is on the street. 90% of it has been WERA and CCS Racing and track days,etc.
I currently have an Aprilia RS250 which sees 1-2 track days a year (due to life and work restrictions).
My son is now almost 9 and has been riding his PW50 for 4 years. I had planned on getting him a 70cc dirt bike but I am having 2nd thoughts.

I am thinking about investing in pocket bikes for both my son and I so we can enjoy a hobby together, with my track bike and his fun-dirt bike, we arent able to enjoy riding together.
I am hoping that the pocket bike racing will allow me to share whatever little I know about road racing, and it will expose him to something I know he likes, and will let him experience a whole new form of motorcycling.

What do you guys think?

Is he better off riding the dirt bike and its better for me to joing him in the dirt?
Get us both pocket bikes and have some fun? (on tracks/mini tracks only of course)

·
Registered
607 Posts
Riding dirt was by far my best education on two wheels, I'd keep the little tyke doing that until he feels the need to switch to asphalt, or injury forces him to make the decision, as was the case with me. Riding dirt taught me how to manage traction better than anything else could have, and I and many others feel it is a precursor to being a skilled road rider as well. Better yet, do both.

·
Registered
3,662 Posts
Take him dirt riding he'll learn a skillset that will be an advantage on any two wheeled vehicle and it's a softer landing.