Speedzilla Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone could post thier average run temperature of an RC. I am new to both the RC and V-twins all together. I know that twins run a bit hotter than inline 4's on average. I have an SP1 and I run anywhere from 178 on long highway runs to 200 to 210 in 40mph city riding at around 80 degrees ambient temp. I know they made some changes to the radiators according to Ron Ayers files in the SP2 but I am just curious on other riders temp readings. My Gixxer runs really cool around 170 steady unless stopped and my F4 reads \ usually which means sh*t to me unless it goes to the red. Thanks in advance.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Re: Average run temp? (blazeword)

I would worry about it at all. Mine will get up to 225f in the dead of summer. In traffic just put it in neutral and let the clutch out, if it is to hot the fans will come on.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

that's about what I'm running..
driving the RC when the weather's in the 60's to 70's it'll creep into the 170 to
180 range, even running it in the low 80's will get me 190 to 200 or so..
Once I stop, the temp will hit 215-220 and the fans kick on..

Then that rear header start heating up the bottom of the damn seat,
then my azz gets all soupy... Nothing like a hot header baking your nuts off...

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

The fans kick on around 214 on my bike and the temp drops back to the 209 range pretty quickly on my RC. When I am riding the temp stays around 189-205. Once the temp gets up after the initial warmup, the bike's temp will spike quick as soon as I stop and then drop almost as quick when I get going again.
I am thinking about trying engine ice to see if I can notice a difference in the heat I feel coming off the bike. Of course in the corners I don't notice the heat at all.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·