Speedzilla Forums banner
1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've owned a RC51 for some time now, and I've always wondered why the slim interest in the motorcycle, along with cheap resale price. I've been told many things by others, but what most say is that it doesn't keep up with the CBR1000rr. The RC51 was built to compete with 750cc inline 4's. Being a physicist/mechanical engineer, I looking over the complete motorcycle design, and refuse to believe that this bike has lived up to its full potential. I have contacted a crank/rod/piston manufacture in efforts to make a 10 item order of crank/rod/piston combo that will bring the RC51 back into the game so to speak. It will bring utilize the Ducati 1098R specifications of bore x stroke 106mm x 67.9mm 12.8:1 compression. This will allow for the bike to run on 91 or high octane gas as well for those concerned with its street ability. The stroker RC51 should provide comparable performance results to the 1098r.

I will have some information on pricing to follow, but with Durbahn's underseat fuel tank setup, this stroker kit, and BST carbon fiber wheels, I can see the RC51 competing with new sport bikes at a comparable price.

If your interested in this overbore stroker kit, please let me know!

Thanks again,
Don M

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There seems to be no-one that has taken this off the drawing board it would be interesting to see what piston speeds do @ high rpm.

BORE and stroke - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org

I think the big concern for people is that they do not want to purchase something without knowing what they are getting. This bore/stroke/piston combination has already been shown to work in the Ducati 1198R. The piston speeds would be nearly the same as OEM. Rev limit would be around 10k, with max power right below at 9,500 rpm. Increasing both bore and stroke at the same time achieve this.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·